4 ways to delete a photo on Facebook Messenger

4 ways to delete a photo on Facebook Messenger
4 ways to delete a photo on Facebook Messenger
Anonim

Whether on a mobile device or a desktop computer, you have the option to delete the photos you have sent via Messenger. However, keep in mind that you won't be able to delete the photos from the entire conversation (they will disappear on your side, but not on the side of the person you sent them to). Sometimes they even stay in the "Shared Photos" section of the conversation. In this case, you will need to delete the message that contains the photos in order to be able to delete them.

Steps

Method 1 of 4: Delete a photo on a mobile device

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 1

Step 1. Open Facebook Messenger

Tap the blue bubble icon with a white lightning bolt on it. If you are signed in to your account, Messenger will open on the list of recent conversations.

If you haven't yet signed in to Messenger, enter your phone number and password before continuing

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 2

Step 2. Tap a conversation

Find the conversation that contains the photo you want to delete and tap it to open it.

  • If Messenger opens on a page that does not have a conversation, first tap Home at the bottom left of the screen (if you're using an iPhone) or at the top left of the screen (if you're using an Android).
  • If Messenger opens to another conversation, first return to the home page by tapping the back button at the top left of the screen.
Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 3

Step 3. Find the photo

Scroll through the conversation to the photo you want to delete.

You can do the same for videos

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 4

Step 4. Long press the photo

A menu will appear at the bottom of the screen (if you are using an iPhone) or in the middle (if you are using an Android).

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 5

Step 5. Select Remove

This option is in the menu.

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 6

Step 6. Press Remove when prompted

The photo will be deleted from your side of the conversation, but it will still be visible on the side of the person you sent it to as long as they haven't deleted it.

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 7

Step 7. Check in the shared content

Deleting a photo in a conversation also removes it from the section Shared photos conversation settings. However, you can check to make sure.

  • Tap the person's name at the top of the conversation (if you're using an iPhone) or tap the at the top right of the screen (if you are using an Android).
  • Scroll down to the section Shared photos.
  • Find the photo you want to delete.
  • If the photo is still visible in the section Shared photos, close and then relaunch the application to see if it disappears. If not, you will need to delete the entire conversation.

Method 2 of 4: Delete a photo on a desktop

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 8

Step 1. Log in to Facebook Messenger

Open this page in your web browser. If you're already signed in to Facebook, Messenger will display the last conversation you had.

  • If you are not yet logged in, enter your email address (or phone number) and click Log in.
Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 10

Step 2. Click on a conversation

Find the conversation that contains the photo you want to delete and click on it to open it.

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 11

Step 3. Find the photo

Scroll through the conversation to the photo you want to delete.

The process will be the same for videos

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 12

Step 4. Select ⋯

This button is located next to the photo and opens a menu.

If you sent the photo, this icon will be to the left of the photo in question. If someone else sent it to you, the icon will be on the right

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 13

Step 5. Click Remove

This option can be found in the menu that has just appeared.

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 14

Step 6. Select Remove when prompted

The photo will be deleted from your side of the conversation, but the other person will still be able to see it until they delete it.

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 14

Step 7. Check the shared photos

Deleting a photo also removes it from the section Shared photos conversation settings, but you can check to make sure.

  • The section Shared photos is to the right of the conversation window (you may have to scroll the pane on the right to find it).
  • Find the photo you just deleted.
  • If the photo is still there, try closing and relaunching your browser, but if that doesn't solve the problem, you'll need to delete the conversation.

Method 3 of 4: Delete a mobile conversation

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 1

Step 1. Open Facebook Messenger

To open Messenger, tap the blue chat bubble icon with a white lightning bolt on it. If you're already signed in to Messenger, the app will open with a list of your recent conversations.

If you have not yet signed in to Messenger, enter your phone number and then your password before proceeding to the next step

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 16

Step 2. Find the conversation you want to delete

This is the conversation that contains the photos that you cannot delete.

If Messenger opens with a conversation, tap the back button at the top left of the screen

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 17

Step 3. Long press on the conversation

A context menu should open after a few seconds.

If you are using an iPhone 6S or a newer version of iPhone, do not press the conversation too hard so as not to activate 3D Touch

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 18

Step 4. Select Delete Conversation

This option is found in the context menu.

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 19

Step 5. Tap Delete Conversation when prompted

The conversation and all the pictures it contains will be deleted from the Facebook Messenger app.

The person you are talking to will still have access to the conversation and the photos until they are deleted

Method 4 of 4: Delete a conversation on a desktop

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 20

Step 1. Log in to Facebook Messenger

Open this page on your web browser. If you are already logged in to Facebook, you will come across the last conversation you had.

  • If you are not yet logged in, enter your email address (or phone number) and password then click on Log in.
Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 10

Step 2. Choose a conversation

Find the conversation that contains the photos you want to delete, then hover your mouse over it. A gray star wheel icon should appear.

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 22

Step 3. Click on the gray cogwheel icon

A drop-down menu should appear.

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 23

Step 4. Select Remove

The option To delete can be found in the drop-down menu.

Delete Photos on Facebook Messenger Step 24

Step 5. Choose Remove when prompted

The conversation and all the images in it will be deleted on your end.

The person will still have access to the conversation and photos, unless they decide to delete them from their end

Advice

  • Whether on the mobile or desktop version, you may need to close and relaunch Facebook Messenger before the deleted photo disappears from the section. Shared photos of the application.

Popular by topic