How to delete a Facebook connection: 6 steps (with pictures)

How to delete a Facebook connection: 6 steps (with pictures)
How to delete a Facebook connection: 6 steps (with pictures)
Anonim

Facebook has invaded the internet. Thanks to Facebook Connect, users can now connect to multiple websites with their Facebook account. While this feature makes it easier to log into different sites without having to create a new account each time, it also means that you can share many of your personal information and usual practices with these third-party websites.

Steps

Remove a Facebook Connection Step 1

Step 1. Log into your Facebook account

Make sure you are logged in to your account. Normally, your journal or profile should be displayed.

Remove a Facebook Connection Step 2

Step 2. Click Settings

This is a button that you will find in the drop-down menu that appears when you click the gear-shaped button in the upper right corner of the page.

Remove a Facebook Connection Step 3

Step 3. Tap Applications

You will find this button at the bottom of the left menu of general account settings.

Remove a Facebook Connection Step 4

Step 4. Go around your connections

Following your access to your applications, a list of these as well as the websites to which your Facebook account is linked will appear. You can make appropriate settings for each application in the list.

Remove a Facebook Connection Step 5

Step 5. Authorize a specific application

Click on the link To modify located in front of the application or website for which you want to change the settings. A new list of options and settings relating to that particular application will then be displayed.

  • Depending on the app or website, you can decide who can see posts made on your behalf, what data the app has access to, how to handle notifications you receive, and more. You can even remove specific permissions granted to the application by clicking the button X located in front of the option.
  • Once all your changes are complete, click on the "Close" button located above the window.
Remove a Facebook Connection Step 6

Step 6. Remove a connection with a website or application

If you want to break all connection between your Facebook account and a particular site or application, click on the icon X located in front of the "Edit" link for the application in question. You will receive a message telling you that your connection to the application is imminent. Select To delete to confirm your action.

  • The app or website may still have old information in stock that you have shared. In this case, you will need to contact the company responsible for that application or website in order to permanently delete this old information.
  • Removing a connection to a website may result in limited interaction with it. Restoring the connection then becomes the only means by which you will be able to fully enjoy this site.

Popular by topic