By default, your Twitter account is set to be public, which means anyone has access to it and anyone can subscribe to it. By making your account private, only users you approve will be able to subscribe to your account and have access to your tweets. This will allow you to keep strangers and your employer out of your privacy and control who can see your tweets.
Part 1 of 2: make tweets private
Step 1. Understand what it takes to protect your tweets
Before you decide to protect your Twitter account and your tweets by making them private, make sure you understand what you are doing. Once you've made your tweets private.
- Other Twitter users will need to send you a request to subscribe to your account and you will need to approve their requests.
- Your tweets will only be visible to users you have approved.
- All other users will be unable to retweet you.
- Your tweets will not appear in Google searches unless the search is performed by an approved follower.
- Any @replies you send won't be visible unless you send them to your approved followers. For example, if you tweet to a celebrity, they won't be able to see your post, since they won't be one of your approved followers.
- Anything you tweeted when your account was public will now become private and will only be accessible to approved subscribers.
- You will only be able to share links to your tweets with your approved followers.
Step 2. Log into your Twitter account with your password and username
Step 3. Click the Security and Help icon
This icon is located at the top right of the page. Scroll down to the Settings option and click on it.
Step 4. Click the Security & Privacy tab
Go to the Privacy section, then check the Protect my tweets box to make your account private.
Step 5. Scroll down to the bottom of the settings page and click Save Changes
From then on, everything you post will be protected and will only be visible to your Twitter followers.
Step 6. Unprotect your tweets
If you want to reverse the process and make your tweets public again, all you have to do is uncheck the Protect my tweets box.
- Be aware that any tweets you posted when your account was private will now be made public and will be accessible to anyone.
- You will also need to review subscription requests before making your account public: these requests will not be accepted automatically. If you don't, those users will need to re-subscribe to your account.
Part 2 of 2: Accept subscription requests
Step 1. Go to your home page
Step 2. See if you have received any subscription requests
If a Twitter user has sent you a subscription request, a button on the side bar will tell you that you need to respond to X numbers of subscription requests.
You will also receive an email notification to let you know that you have received a new subscription request
Step 3. Respond to subscription requests
Click on the Add Requests button to access the profile of users who wish to subscribe to your account. You will be able to see the user's name, profile picture and a link to their Twitter profile.
Step 4. Click Approve or Decline to accept or decline a subscription request
The users you reject will not be notified. Users whose request you accept will now be able to access your tweets, but will not be able to retweet them (since their own followers are not allowed to access your tweets).
- You can delete any publicly posted tweet.
- Making your Twitter account private is not retroactive, tweets and photos posted when your account was public will remain so. These posts may no longer be visible on your Twitter, but anyone who liked, retweeted, or linked to a tweet that was then public will still have access to that tweet whether or not you approved it as a subscriber to your account.
- Twitter users who are not subscribed to your account will not be able to read your responses to their tweets. If you want certain users to be able to read your responses, encourage them to subscribe to your account.