3 ways to delete a channel on Slack

3 ways to delete a channel on Slack
3 ways to delete a channel on Slack
Anonim

If your Slack workspace is a public channel that no longer works, you have 2 different options to delete it: archive and delete. Deleting a channel permanently erases its content, as if there had been no discussion. In addition, its archiving keeps its history so that members have access to important content. To archive or delete a channel, you should be the administrator or owner of a workspace and have access to a computer.

Steps

Method 1 of 3: Delete a channel

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 1

Step 1. Go to Slack.com using a web browser

If you want to delete a channel on Slack, you have the option of doing so on the application platform. Deleting will erase the entire history of the channel, which means that all information that was once shared will disappear.

  • If you later want to undelete a channel, be sure to archive it instead.
  • Private channels cannot be deleted, but they can still be archived.
Delete a Channel on Slack Step 2

Step 2. Log in to your workspace

Click on Log in and enter the name of your workspace as well as your login credentials when prompted.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 3

Step 3. Click on the name of your workspace

You will see this at the top in the left column. When you click on it, a settings menu will appear.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 4

Step 4. Select Administration from the menu

This action will open the page Settings and permissions in your browser.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 5

Step 5. Click Message Archives in the left column

You will now see the list of channels that are associated with your workspace.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 6

Step 6. Click on the name of the channel you want to delete

Its content will be displayed in the middle section. When you delete the channel, you will no longer be able to access its content.

  • Deleting a channel does not affect the files you have shared with members. They will still have access to the files in the section All the files.
Delete a Channel on Slack Step 7

Step 7. Click Remove this channel

Remember that this action is irreversible. If you prefer not to delete all content from the channel, go for these alternatives.

  • Click on Archive this channel to prevent members from using it, while making its content available to members of your workspace.
  • Click on Convert this channel to a private channel to keep the members while you remove it from the list. You can, however, remove members from the channel if you don't want them to have access to the content.
Delete a Channel on Slack Step 8

Step 8. Confirm the channel deletion

When the deletion message appears, check Yes, delete this channel and click on To delete.

Method 2 of 3: Archive a channel

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 9

Step 1. Go to Slack.com through your browser

If you no longer want members of your workspace to use a particular channel, but want old content to remain available, you can archive it.

  • You have the option of removing a channel from the archives at any time.
  • If you want to permanently delete the message history from the channel, take a look at the first method.
Delete a Channel on Slack Step 10

Step 2. Log in to your workspace

Click on Log in and enter the name of your workspace as well as your login credentials when prompted.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 11

Step 3. Go to the channel you want to archive

Click on its name on the left in the menu bar to access it.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 12

Step 4. Click on the gear icon

This action will allow you to access the menu Channel parameters. The icon is at the top of the application window next to the channel name. After clicking on it, a small menu will appear.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 13

Step 5. Select More Options

You will then be redirected to an options page.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 14

Step 6. Click Archive this channel

A confirmation message will appear on the screen.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 15

Step 7. Click Yes, archive channel

Members of the workspace will no longer be able to send messages in this channel.

  • Archived channels are always displayed in Slack and organized by name, but instead of starting with a hash (like #chaine), it's preceded by a binder icon.
  • To search for an archived channel, click its name in Slack, then enter your criteria in the search bar.
Delete a Channel on Slack Step 16

Step 8. Remove a chain from the archives

If you want to activate a channel again, follow these instructions.

  • Open the chain and click on the cogwheel icon (next to the chain name).
  • Select Cancel the archiving of #nomdelachaine.

Method 3 of 3: Turn off channel notifications

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 17

Step 1. Open the Slack app

You can do this from your computer or your mobile device. Muting a channel allows you to ignore it by disabling its notifications. You will still have access to the channel, but it will no longer appear in bold in the section Chains.

Apply this method if you are distracted by a channel that has multiple members or if you don't want to be bothered by notifications

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 18

Step 2. Log in to your workspace

Follow the instructions to sign in to your Slack workspace.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 19

Step 3. Go to the channel you want to mute

Click or tap on its name to access it.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 20

Step 4. Type

/ disable-notifications

in the message box.

Then press Enter. If you're using a mobile device, just tap the send icon. The channel's notifications will be automatically disabled.

Delete a Channel on Slack Step 21

Step 5. Type again

/ disable-notifications

.

This command will allow you to reactivate the channel's notifications at any time.

Popular by topic