How to clean cache folder in Google Chrome

How to clean cache folder in Google Chrome
How to clean cache folder in Google Chrome
Anonim

To speed up Google Chrome or fix sites that are not displaying correctly, you can clear the cache of temporary files. This is possible on the desktop version of the browser or in the mobile application.

Steps

Method 1 of 2: Clear the cache on a desktop computer

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 1

Step 1. Open Google Chrome

Android7chrome

The app icon looks like a red, yellow, green, and blue sphere.

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 2

Step 2. Click ⋮

This button is located in the upper right corner of the window and opens a drop-down menu.

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 3

Step 3. Select More Tools

This option is in the middle of the drop-down menu. Select it to open a context menu.

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 4

Step 4. Click Clear Browsing Data

This option is found in the context menu and opens the navigation data window.

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 5

Step 5. Open the General tab

It is located in the upper left corner of the navigation data window.

  • If you want to clear the website settings cache, open the tab instead advanced settings.
Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 6

Step 6. Click the Period drop-down box

It's at the top of the window and opens a drop-down menu.

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 7

Step 7. Select All Periods

This option is in the drop-down menu and removes all cached files on your browser.

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 8

Step 8. Select the Cached images and files check box

It is in the middle of the window.

  • Uncheck all other boxes on this page if you want to delete only the cached files.
  • If you want to delete the website settings cache, also check the box Cookies and other site data.
Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 9

Step 9. Click CLEAR DATA

This blue button is located at the bottom right of the window. Click on it to delete cached files and images from your computer and browser.

  • If you checked the box Cookies and other site data, Chrome will also remove cached versions of web pages, allowing them to update on your next visit. This option will log you out of most accounts.

Method 2 of 2: Clear cache on mobile

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 10

Step 1. Open Google Chrome

Android7chrome

Tap the Chrome app icon that looks like a red, yellow, green, and blue sphere.

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 11

Step 2. Press ⋮

This icon is located at the top right of the screen and opens a drop-down menu.

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 12

Step 3. Select History

This option is in the middle of the drop-down menu.

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 13

Step 4. Tap Clear browsing data

This option with red text is located at the bottom left of the screen.

  • On Android, tap CLEAR BROWSING DATA at the top or bottom of the screen.
Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 14

Step 5. Select a period on Android

If you are using an Android, tap the menu Period then select All periods in the menu that opens.

This option is selected by default on iPhone and cannot be changed

Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 15

Step 6. Check the option Cached images and files

It is located in the middle of the screen and allows you to delete saved images and website files. This option allows you to recover memory on your phone or tablet.

  • On Android, first open the tab ADVANCES in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • You can uncheck all other options on this page if you do not want to delete other browsing data.
  • If you want to delete cached website data on your browser, check the box Cookies / site data (on iPhone) or Cookies and site data (on Android).
Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 16

Step 7. Tap Clear browsing data

This is the icon with red text in the middle of the screen.

  • On Android, tap ERASE DATA at the bottom right of the screen.
Clear the Cache in Chrome Step 17

Step 8. Select Clear browsing data

Chrome will delete cached images and files from your browser and phone memory. If you checked the box Cookies / site data, the cached website data will also be deleted and you will be logged out of the sites where you were logged in.

  • On Android, tap ERASE EVERYTHING when prompted.

Popular by topic