3 ways to delete an Instagram post

3 ways to delete an Instagram post
3 ways to delete an Instagram post
Anonim

Photos can be deleted from your Instagram profile from the app by going through the options menu and then selecting Delete. Comments can also be removed from posts by going to the comments section of a photo and then tapping on the trash can icon. Note that you can only delete posts you've created or other people's comments on your own photos.

Steps

Method 1 of 3: Delete the images

Delete an Instagram Post Step 1

Step 1. Open the Instagram app

If you don't already have the app installed on your device, first download it from the App Store or Play Store.

Photos can only be deleted from your profile from the mobile app

Delete an Instagram Post Step 2

Step 2. Log into your Instagram account

Enter your username and password then press To log in.

Delete an Instagram Post Step 3

Step 3. Tap the silhouette icon

This button is located at the bottom right of the screen and will redirect you to your profile page as well as your collection of Instagram posts.

Delete an Instagram Post Step 4

Step 4. Select a photo

Find the photo you want to delete and tap it to open it.

Delete an Instagram Post Step 5

Step 5. Press the 3 vertical dots

This button is located at the top right and opens the options menu.

Delete an Instagram Post Step 6

Step 6. Choose Remove

The photo will be removed from your News Feed and will no longer be visible to other users.

  • You can only delete one post at a time.
  • Deleting a post will also remove it from the linked Facebook account.
  • Deleting a post will permanently remove all likes and comments on the photo.

Method 2 of 3: Delete comments

Delete an Instagram Post Step 7

Step 1. Open the Instagram app

If you haven't downloaded the app yet, go to the App Store or Play Store first.

Delete an Instagram Post Step 8

Step 2. Log into your Instagram account

Enter your username followed by your password then press To log in.

Delete an Instagram Post Step 9

Step 3. Tap the silhouette icon

This icon is located at the top right of your screen. Tap it to open your profile page and view your collection of Instagram posts.

This step is only necessary if you are deleting a comment on one of your own photos

Delete an Instagram Post Step 10

Step 4. Open a photo by tapping on it

You can only delete your own comments or other users' comments on your own photos

Delete an Instagram Post Step 11

Step 5. Tap the chat bubble icon

You will see this icon appear directly below the photo (next to the heart-shaped button). Tap it to open the list of comments for that post.

Delete an Instagram Post Step 12

Step 6. Select a comment

The selected comment will be highlighted and new buttons will appear in the top menu bar.

Delete an Instagram Post Step 13

Step 7. Tap the trash can icon

This button is located at the top right and allows you to remove the selected comment from the publication. It will have no effect on the photo.

  • If you don't see the trash can icon, it means that you have selected a comment that you are not allowed to delete (for example another user's comment on a photo that is not yours).
  • If you continue to see the comment despite deleting, try refreshing the post by dragging it down on the screen. It may take some time to remove comments from servers.

Method 3 of 3: Delete Instagram photos from other locations

Delete an Instagram Post Step 14

Step 1. Open the Photos app

Delete an Instagram Post Step 15

Step 2. Push ≡ to open the menu (only on Android)

This button is located at the top left of the screen.

Delete an Instagram Post Step 16

Step 3. Select Device Folders (if you are using an Android)

If you're using an iOS device, tap Albums. On iOS, this button is at the bottom of the photo application and allows you to display the Camera Roll in the album list.

  • If you are using an Android device, your Instagram photos will be listed under the header Instagram.
Delete an Instagram Post Step 17

Step 4. Tap Camera Roll (iOS only)

This will open the album with the photos in your Camera Roll, including those saved by Instagram.

Delete an Instagram Post Step 18

Step 5. Post a photo

Tap a photo to view it.

Delete an Instagram Post Step 19

Step 6. Tap the trash can icon

You will be asked to confirm the deletion of the photo.

  • You can also disable saving Instagram photos by going to your profile (the silhouette icon), opening the menu and then disabling the option. Save original photos under the header Settings.
Delete an Instagram Post Step 20

Step 7. Delete the posts from related social networks

Log into your social media account where you shared the Instagram post. Tap the button to delete the post that includes the Instagram photo.

  • In general, if you delete a post on Instagram, it will be automatically deleted from your linked Facebook account.
  • You can also unlink your other social media accounts from your Instagram account.

Advice

  • Deleted photos cannot be recovered, but if you delete a post by accident, Instagram will save your photos to your phone by default. You can check this setting by going to your profile (the silhouette icon), opening the menu, and making sure that the option Save original photos under the header Settings is activated.
  • Photos cannot be removed from your news feed using the web interface, but you can remove comments from your posts by selecting the photo and then clicking the X next to a comment.

Popular by topic