If you have a pushy loved one or a pushy friend pestering you on Instagram, you'll be happy to hear that you can remove them from your account! If it is not possible to "remove" subscribers in the classic sense of the word, you can block them and prevent them from accessing your profile. You can also choose to make your account private, to avoid accumulating unwanted subscribers.
Part 1 of 2: Block subscribers
Step 1. Launch the Instagram app
If you're using a computer, go to the Instagram website.
If you are not already logged in, you will need to enter your username and password
Step 2. Go to your profile
To do this, click on the little man icon. If you are using a phone, this will be located at the bottom right of the screen.
If you are on a computer, you will find this icon at the top right of the screen
Step 3. Click on the “Subscribers” option
You'll find it to the right of your profile picture.
Step 4. Review your list of subscribers
If you cannot force a user to unsubscribe from your profile, you can block them and prevent them from being subscribed or accessing your account.
Step 5. Click on the subscriber you want to remove
You will be redirected to his profile and can then block him.
Step 6. Click on the menu with three small dots
You'll find them at the top right of your screen (and to the right of the user's name on a computer).
On Android, this menu will be vertical and not horizontal
Step 7. Click on the “Block” option
On the website, the option will be "block this user". After clicking on this option, Instagram will ask you to confirm your choice.
Step 8. Click “yes, I'm sure”
The selected user will be blocked and will no longer be able to see your posts!
- The blocked user will still be able to see your comments on other users' photos and they will still be able to search for your account. However, he will no longer be able to access it.
- You can access the list of users you have blocked at any time by going to your settings and clicking on "blocked users".
Step 9. Repeat this process for all the users you want to block
If you want to avoid unwanted subscribers in the future, you can set your account private. This will allow you to confirm users' subscription requests before they can access your account.
Part 2 of 2: Put your account in private
Step 1. Open the Instagram app on your smartphone
By setting your account private, you will force users who wish to subscribe to your profile to send you a subscription request. This will give you greater control over who can access your Instagram.
- By setting your account private, you will also restrict user access to your comments and likes, with the exception of comments and likes on public posts (your name will appear at next to the "like" mention, but access to your account will still be protected.
- You will not be able to change your account's privacy settings from a computer.
Step 2. Open your profile if you haven't already
To do this, click on the little man icon at the bottom right of your phone screen.
You can also do this from a tablet
Step 3. Go to your account settings
To do this, click on the small wheel icon (iOS) or on the three small dots (Android), at the top right of the screen.
Step 4. Scroll down to the “account” section
There you will find a whole series of tabs relating to your account options. At the bottom of the list you will find the option "private account".
Step 5. Turn the switch next to "private account" on
It should turn from gray to blue, which will tell you that your account is now private!
- If you want to disable this setting, just turn the switch back to off and click OK in the popup window.
- Note that your current subscribers will not be affected by this change in settings. If you want to block one or more of your subscribers, you will have to do it manually.
- Blocked users will not be able to see your photos in their "posts I liked" tab.
- The blocked user's comments and likes will still be visible on your images, but you can remove them manually if you wish.